Sunday, December 25, 2011

The New Facebook Timeline: Ugh!!

So now Facebook is turning into an online scrapbook filled with your old posts, pictures and Facebook memories. I just logged unto Facebook yesterday to check out a video on my friends page and saw the new Facebook Timeline online and was shocked at the new changes. 



The Timeline says tell your life with a new kind of profile, "your collections of the photos, posts and experiences that help tell your story."


When I saw it I thought, please let this be optional and not permanent. I'm really not feeling it at all and I'm glad my page hasn't changed. 


Then I spoke too soon when I read this:  "...if you want to resist as long as possible, you can do nothing and eventually Facebook will switch over your profile for you. Whichever way you decide to do it, once Timeline rolls out to your account you will have seven days to review your Facebook Timeline before it goes live."


Whyyy!!??



Master Facebook's Timeline With This Handy Guide

There's an option where you can click on someone's Timeline and for example go to December of last year and read things they posted last year. 


I don't know about you but I find this even more creepy. Why would someone seriously go to someone else's page and sit there scrolling through a timeline of their old statuses?


This also goes to show, nothing gets deleted from your page when you start a Facebook since it's all collected on the new Timeline.


Like, why do I have to re-do all this work and go through Privacy settings to set up this dumb Timeline when I don't even want it.


What are your thoughts on the new Facebook timeline? I say stick to Twitter, lol.

More About Timeline, according to Facebook:

Preview your timeline
Once you get timeline, you'll have 7 days before anyone else can see it. This gives you a chance to get your timeline looking the way you want before other people see it.

Decide what to highlight

To help you get started, your timeline includes some of your top photos and stories. Hide or highlight whatever you want and add anything that's missing.

Control who sees your stuff

Only the people you originally shared a post with can see it on your timeline. If you want, you can go back and change who sees a post, delete it or just hide it from your timeline.

3 comments:

  1. I think its a dumb idea and they are stupid! I want to see what is going on NOW, not 2 yrs ago. It is also very confusing and all over the place. No structure. I don't even get on fb that often now and def won't change that if that is what I have to look forward to. Facebook....this one is a FAIL!

    ReplyDelete
  2. When I saw that on 1 of my friends page, I didnt even pay it no mind. I just said ew and kept moving. Didn't occur to me I would one day be forced to have my page look like that too!

    ReplyDelete

Add your comments and thoughts below and click 'subscribe by email' button to receive follow up responses and other comments on this post.

Blogchives